Executive Committee

The AZTech Executive Committee comprises of public and private agency leaders representing transportation, emergency management, public safety, and public information interests. Co-chairing the committee are the Deputy State Engineer of the Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT) and the Director of Maricopa County Department of Transportation (MCDOT).

In exercising its leadership role, the Committee adopts policy guidelines for AZTech Committees and staff, seeks to develop constituencies to help promote AZTech to the public, and serves as a forum to highlight discussions on ITS research, new technology, and operational issues.

Executive Committee Co-chairs

Jennifer Toth, P.E., Director/County Engineer, Maricopa County Department of Transportation

Dallas Hammit, P.E., Deputy Director for Transportation/State Engineer, Arizona Department of Transportation

Executive Committee Charter

Strategic Steering Committee

The AZTech Strategic Steering Committee (ASSC) was chartered in 2015 and serves as the liaison between the AZTech Executive Committee and all other AZTech committees and working groups. The ASSC is comprised of public agency Intelligent Transportation Systems leaders representing transportation and public safety interests. In exercising a strategic operations implementation role, the Committee was originally formed as a strategy task force to facilitate the realization of the strategic priorities identified in the 2009 Arizona Operations Action Plan for the Phoenix metropolitan area. AZTech is placing more emphasis on Transportation Systems Management and Operations (TSM&O) initiatives requiring a committee to facilitate consistent development and implementation of TSM&O strategies in the region by collaboration among AZTech public partner agencies.

Strategic Steering Committee Chairs

Chair: Tricia Boyer, Senior Transportation Engineer, City of Mesa

Vice Chair: Srini Goundla, Senior Engineer, City of Chandler

Committee Charter

Operations Committee

Traffic management specialists from the public agency members of AZTech meet monthly to ensure that policies adopted by the AZTech Executive Committee are carried out in their member agencies.

This group coordinates and seeks to attain consensus on traffic operations and management issues that span agency boundaries such as cross-jurisdictional signal timing, emergency response activities, and the funding, installation, operation, and maintenance of ITS equipment for regional benefit.

AZTech Operations Committee Chairs

Chair: Albert Garcia, Intelligent Transportation Systems Supervisor, City of Surprise

Vice Chair: Simon Ramos, Traffic Management & Operations Engineer, City of Phoenix

Operations Committee Charter

Traffic Incident Management (TIM) Coalition

A multi-disciplinary partnership established in 2010 that includes state and local police, fire, EMS, towing companies, transportation agencies and metropolitan planning organizations. The committee shares ideas, knowledge, lessons learned and best practices resulting in safer and more efficient management of incidents occurring on, or significantly impacting, the region's roadways.

Traffic Incident Management Coalition Chair

Captain John Paul Cartier, Arizona State Troopers, Highway Patrol Division

TIM Coalition Charter

TMC Operators Working Group

The AZTech TMC Operators Working Group is a coordinating group of traffic management center operators representing transportation, public safety, and public information interests. The purpose of the group is to improve the working relationships among local Traffic Management Centers (TMC) in Maricopa County by taking tours of each facility, obtaining a better understanding of the capabilities of each center, and becoming familiar with the procedures, equipment capabilities, locations and hours of operation of each center to enhance traffic management regionally.

TMC Operators Working Group Co-Chairs

Arizona Department of Transportation: Vacant

Barbara Hauser, TMC Coordinator, Maricopa County Department of Transportation

TMC Operators Working Group Charter

Media & Communications Task Force

The Media & Communications Task Force is made up of public information officers from AZTech partners and news media representatives to improve the quality, accessibility and timeliness of the traveler information offered to the public in order to increase safety and mobility in the Phoenix metropolitan area.

Media & Communications Task Force Co-Chairs

Steve Elliott, Assistant Communication Director for Public Information, Arizona Department of Transportation

Traci Ruth, Strategic Communication and Outreach Division Manager, Maricopa County Department of Transportation

Media & Communications Charter